In order to qualify for certification, there is a list of requirements that you must satisfy. Read more to learn about specific qualifications, the VTNE, first-time certification and certification renewal.
- You must have graduated from an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited program and must have passed the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE)
- You must have worked consecutively in the capacity of a veterinary technician for five or more years, and must have passed the VTNE by December 31, 2006
- Reciprocity is granted for technicians currently registered, licensed, or certified in another state
- Certification is not required in the state of Montana, but highly recommended
Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE):
- An examination for certification as a veterinary technician in Montana will be held annually at a time, date, and place set by American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). For application and exam preperation please go to: www.aavsb.org
- BSVTA will recognize test results for the exam conducted outside of Montana
First-Time Certification | New graduate:
- Certification fee is $75 every even numbered year, due by Dec. 31st.
- Provide proof that you have passed the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE)
- Provide proof of graduation from an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)
- New graduates of even years are exempt for the year of graduation
- New graduates of odd years must have 8 hours of continuing education by the following January 1st (of an even year). Of those hours, only 4 can be online or magazine courses.
- Certification fee is $75 every even numbered year, due by Dec. 31st
- There is a late fee of $25 if postmarked after Dec. 31st
- Continuing education credits are due on even years.
- At least 16 hours of continuing education for every two years is required for renewal.
- Approved hours include; in person lectures, wet labs, articles from magazines, and/or online courses that are AVMA, MVMA, AHHA, and RACE approved
- Only 8 hours can be from an alternative continuing education such as online or magazine courses
- CVT’s with less than 16 hours of CE will be put on probation and will have until the next MVMA meeting to earn and report these hours. A late fee will be due at this time also. If a CVT fails to meet these requirements, they will loose their certification and be required to re-test and re-apply.
- Failure to pay the renewal fee on a timely basis, comply with other renewal requirements, or comply with continuing education requirements is grounds for the association to suspend or revoke a CVT’s certificate.
- Out-of-state transfers are not considered renewals, therefore the $25 late fee is waived.
- For additional information on certification and out-of-state transfers, refer to the BSVTA Bylaws and Constitution.
If renewal application is received after the due date, your certification is suspended until the following fees & fines are paid and appropriate CE is provided.
- If renewal application is late but received within 1 cycle (2 years)
- (Example: received after Jan 1, 2019 but before Dec 31, 2020)
- Pay current application fee of $75.00 (or current fee approved by board)
- Also include a penalty fee of $25.00. Accrued quarterly until current or next 2 yr cycle begins + CE
- If renewal application is received after 1 cycle, but before 2 cycles have passed (under 4 years)
- (Example: received after Jan 1, 2021 but before Dec 31, 2022)
- Pay current application fee of $75.00 per cycle (or current fee per cycle approved by board)
- Also include a penalty fee of $25.00. Accrued quarterly until current or next 2nd 2 yr cycle begins + CE
- If application is received after the 2nd cycle passes (over 4 years)
- Pay current application fee of $75.00 (or current fee approved by board) & Retake the VTNE and provide proof of passing score.